Rant #1 – Universities

I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to do a series where I rant about things, because my blog is much too positive as it is! Plus, who doesn’t love a good whine!

So, my first thing I’m going to moan about is the Universities in England. Now I was lucky and managed to get into University without any trouble. My boyfriend, on the other hand, did not. The school system is designed to make him fail! He’s dyslexic and autistic, yet he’s expected to get a grade C in English before any University will accept him. He has taken this English exam 3 times, and is taking it again, tomorrow. Each time he has been one or two marks off. How is this fair?

In England there’s a thing called “Clearing” where if Universities have spaces left you can apply for them, my boyfriend has tried this and each of them have said they can’t make a decision until he passes this exam. We’re stuck in a limbo. He gets more and more stressed about the exam each time, and this is it. Tomorrow is his last chance.

So Universities, if you’re reading this… Do something! I understand that having a good level of English helps you to do well in University, but come on, if you have places available and students who want to get in, what’s the problem?! My boyfriend got better college grades than we were expecting (equivalent to 3 A’s at A-level) and a B in Maths and you still can’t make an exception?! Ughhh!

Okay, I’m done. Have any of you had similar problems? Or have you had problems with your school? As ever, thanks for reading and please feel free to get in touch 🙂

8 thoughts on “Rant #1 – Universities

  1. We had something like this in high school. If you didn’t pass all five parts you could not graduate. I had a friend take it. She passed all, but one part and it was only a point away from what she needed. We got a couple more chances to retake the exam, but it is still frustrating. I hope things go well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve always felt like assessments should be a bit more practical. It’s hard to think that you can’t go to universities you want because you didn’t remember something in the hour whilst you were taking your exam. It would be nice to be able to apply what you’ve learned in real life situations. Exams aren’t for everyone – some of the most intelligent people would perform better in practical work than sitting a paper in a high stress situation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

