You Look Disgusting

A friend of mine showed me this video and suggested I make a blog post about it. Twenty seconds in and I had already made up my mind that I had to write about this.

This woman (whose blog you can visit here) posted photos of herself online when she was not wearing make up. The comments she recieved were awful, and phrases such as “revolting” and “ugly” and “gross” were thrown at her. Let’s just get this straight. You are entitled to have an opinion, but if you can’t express this opinion in a polite and respectable manner then please keep it to yourself. Especially about something as personal as someone’s appearance.

The woman in this video has acne. Almost as if she’s a human, right?! As a teenager I have acne. Growing up I had acne pretty bad and I was so self conscious so I used to cover my face in tons of makeup, and I used to have my hair hanging over my face to try and cover them up. Until I just woke up one day and just thought fuck it, I have spots because my body has a ton of chemicals whizzing around and there’s not much I can do about it. So I walked into school with no makeup on and my hair in a ponytail and guess what… no one cared! Please do not feel like you have to wear makeup to feel beautiful, and if you don’t like wearing makeup please don’t feel like you have to to please others.

But.

If you want to wear makeup because you like the way it looks and it makes you happy, then wear it, you’re beautiful! Don’t let anyone tell you what to put on your face.

So here’s a few final words for those reading this:

  • If you have spots, you’re beautiful.
  • If you don’t have spots, you’re beautiful.
  • If you don’t wear makeup, you’re beautiful.
  • If you wear makeup, you’re beautiful.
  • If you spread love and happiness, you’re beautiful.
  • If you’re reading this, you’re hella beautiful. Fact.

Thank you for reading and I’d love to hear your thoughts on this topic šŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “You Look Disgusting

  1. I completely agree with you. If anyone hasn’t watched that video, I suggest you go and watch it now, as its really powerful, especially the phrase at the end. So many people suffer from low self confidence, and the video really brings to light that we should be happy with ourselves and that we’re beautiful, no matter what! Xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. No one’s prefect. That’s the whole point of us being humans. There’s got to be some imperfection and embracing that makes us love ourselves more. Also, if anyone thinks they’re perfect and tries to put you down, they’re delusional and you’re pretty amazing! SO don’t let those arrogant and self-centered idiots bring you down. There’s beauty in being yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

      • haha!
        Thanks šŸ™‚
        Sometimes I get such profound thoughts that they scare me šŸ˜›
        Also, it’s one subject I’m slightly touchy about or atleast I used to be because I’m fat. Like really fat. So I used to be super insecure about that and was so self-conscious but then I realised that it doesn’t really matter. And when I did realise that, I started being myself and actually liking it. These days, when anyone does call me fat I know they’re just making a point and it doesn’t even offend me anymore.
        Because I frankly don’t care about their opinions anymore. šŸ˜›
        And I cannot believe I wrote such a long comment either šŸ˜›

        Liked by 2 people

  3. That blog, well it was like a running ad for cosmetics, but maybe that’s her thing. No issues.
    I’d like to strike a discordant note here though. People posted crap at her for putting up some pics sans make-up. That was her decision, I presume. Some people criticized her for it, in whatever tasteless way they wanted to.
    But here’s the thing. They’re entitled to their opinion! However stupid and full of shit it might seem to us, they have both the right to have it and to voice it. That’s what freedom of expression means. “We do not have to right to be not offended”. You don’t like what they say, fine. I don’t either. But we can criticize them for having what we think is the wrong view, but we can’t ask them to keep it to themselves. And we surely can’t (and shouldn’t) make them do that! Jerkwads are the price we pay for the freedom to express ourselves; I for one, am willing to pay it.
    Ok, now I’m running for cover! šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was really sad to watch this video. I saw it a couple weeks ago and I thought… My god, how could anyone possibly say such things. I mean, seriously? I couldn’t even believe people would do that. And why? I was completely disgusted by the insensitivity and the lack of humanity and empathy. I really applaud the woman who made the video. She sent a powerful message and had a lot of courage to do that. Just goes to show how beautiful she really is. I’d be lucky to have her as a friend in my life.

    When I think of the women or men who made those comments, I hope they are disgusted and humiliated by their behavior.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: You Look Digusting- a respone post | vintagexsmiles

  6. I hope it is okay, but I did a response post to this and I made sure to include where I got the idea from (you) and a link to your blog. I apologize for not asking before hand, but the video just made me so upset and I just had to blog and share my opinion on it. I gave you credit in the beginning of my writing though and once again I’m really sorry for not asking before hand, but I hope you enjoy what I had to say!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

