Reasons why I love my dad…

Hey you lovely lot, it is 8:30am, on Sunday the 21st of June. That means that here in the UK it is Father’s Day, so to honour my dad I thought I’d write a list of reasons why I have the most amazing dad ever…

  1. He makes me laugh. I don’t like new places or being surrounded by large crowds. I mentioned this in an earlier post, but wherever I am I plan my escape routes and try and wear clothes and shoes that allow me to run away if I need to. So if I’m in a new place it’s harder for me to plan how I can escape and that makes me uncomfortable. So I’ll be sitting there at a crowded family gathering and dad will come over and make faces at me and just goof around, which definitely helps ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. He sings and dances all the time. And I mean all the time!ย It doesn’t matter where we are, if Gangnam Style comes on he’s dancing, which has lead to some interesting looks while we’re out shopping! We deliver Chinese takeaway together, so we’re in a car together for about 15 hours a week. That means we have perfected the art of the duet. At the minute our favourite one is FourFiveSeconds by Rihanna and Kanye West, and we will practice until we get it spot on ๐Ÿ˜› Then if a song comes on with a good beat we will ย rave in the car (with me trying not to knock over the Chinese food), which is an interesting sight! At the minute it’s I’m an Albatraoz (*warning contains rude words) which is our go to rave song.
  3. I can tell him anything. I know a lot of girls go to their mum for advice, especially regarding things like relationships, but for me my dad is just so open and honest that I go to him first if I have a problem. It’s so nice to have someone who I can laugh and joke around with, but also someone who I can have deep conversations with.
  4. He taught me to work hard. My dad works full time, 5 days a week from 8am-5pm. Then three nights a week we deliver Chinese food from 5:30pm-10pm. My dad still manages to find time to go to every one of my brother’s karate lessons, gradings, and competitions. And we still go visit my nan every single week. And he’s never missed a parent’s evening, school play, or award ceremony. I know he must be so tired, but he never once complains and I think that deserves a lot of respect.
  5. He taught me the value of money. If I wanted something I got it…If I worked for it. I have never wanted for anything, but if I do want something then I either had to wait until it was my birthday or Christmas, or I had to pay for it myself. And I think this has made me work so much harder, and ever since I was 13 I’ve had a job and this has helped me become a more mature person and has helped me get into my dream University and get a scholarship ๐Ÿ™‚
  6. He has always been there for me. I know that if I was in any kind of trouble I could call my dad and he would be there in a heartbeat.
  7. I know he loves me. My dad has always given me unconditional love and respect, and I wouldn’t change him for the world.

Happy Father’s day, Dad! x

16 thoughts on “Reasons why I love my dad…

  1. Pingback: Other Species of Human, The Societies in the Past and Why I Love My Dad | Just Call me Elm or Something

Leave a Reply

