Dobby is a free elf !!

20150604_094617[1]

Two years of my blood, sweat, and tears. Conveniently stored in a folder.

I am done. Two years of college are officially over. Now what? I always thought that after I finished college I’d feel like an adult, like I was completely prepared to move onto Uni and finally grow up. Truth is, I am so fucking scared. I am 17 for God’s sake, I have no idea about the world! What even are taxes?! I have been through 13 years of education and I can tell you all the elements in the Periodic Table, and recite the “To be or not to be…” quote from Hamlet off by heart, and don’t get me started on Pythagoras Theorem because I am an expert at that! Yet I don’t understand politics, or how to run a household, and I’ve never been taught how to write a CV/ resume. I guess what I’m trying to say is that the teenage generation is growing up completely unprepared for life. Yesterday I had to ask to go to the toilet, and now I’m expected to sort out my student finance, find a job, find somewhere to live, and be a fully functioning adult?! Yeah…no.Of course education is important, don’t get me wrong. But I think our system needs to change, otherwise we’re going to produce a generation who can recognise a metaphor but can’t pay the bills.

4 thoughts on “Dobby is a free elf !!

Leave a Reply

