The perfect day.

Things have been rough for the past few months, and unfortunately depression is not something you can cure by swallowing some aspirin. But I’m getting there. I want to thank my amazing boyfriend and his family for making me forget for a little while. We sat in front of the fire (an actual real fireplace!) watching Game of Thrones, eating homemade pizza, with Chubs (our very fat cat). I could almost convince myself I was in a Cecelia Ahern novel! I just needed 24 hours where I wasn’t surrounded by people giving me “advice”. For me, that’s the worst thing about depression- getting advice from those who have never had it. No, I’m not just having a bad day, and no I can’t just get over it, and saying I just want attention isn’t helpful thank you very much. For those of you who are fighting depression, keep going! Try and surround yourself with people who help you, and don’t listen to the ones who put you down. You’ll have good days and you’ll have bad, but as you start to get control again the good days will start to outnumber the bad ones. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

