Let’s talk about Autism.

Yes, my boyfriend is autistic. And he is the sweetest, kindest, most beautiful person I have met. Unfortunately he was told throughout his life that he would never be anything, that he would struggle with every aspect of normal life. He was bullied in every school he went to, punched, kicked, spat on. Every single day. Even writing this makes me so damn angry. The school did nothing, not even when he was set on fire on the day of his final English GCSE. Yet they managed to find the time to yell at him for being late to his exam. Now I know the schools nowadays are so much better at helping those with autism, but there are still so many people who don’t understand.

The reason I decided to write this post now was a conversation I had with a family friend. She asked how my boyfriend was and I mentioned he had autism. She seemed so shocked that I would even consider dating someone with this condition. Before I go on I want to mention that I have been lucky and managed to get good grades in school and am predicted to get top grades at college, and therefore I was offered a scholarship for University. The woman I spoke to could not believe that such a “gifted young lady” would want to be in a relationship with someone “with, let’s face it, no future”. How fucking dare she. My boyfriend has the potential to be anything he damn well wants to be. He wants to be an astronaut? I’ll ring up NASA right now. He wants to be an Olympic Champion? I’ve got a stopwatch he can borrow. He wants to be Doctor Who? That’s great, bow ties are cool. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I will support him in everything he does, because he deserves happiness. No one has the right to tell him, or anyone for that matter, that they have no future.

I have been with my boyfriend for a while now, and we’ve been there for each other in the best times and the worst and I have loved him throughout. Don’t get me wrong, he can drive me crazy sometimes and there’s been times where I didn’t know if we were going to make it. But we got through it, and I wouldn’t change him for the world.

18 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Autism.

  1. Seriously. You are amazing. I can’t stress this enough: you know what’s right, and you STAND UP for it. There are too many people who hide behind shadows but you MEAN your words. And I COMPLETELY agree with you. Autism doesn’t make you stupid, at all. People with disabilities are EXACTLY the same as everyone else and people NEED to understand that, and not label them!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. This is so sweet! ❀ Honestly, if I was into girls, then I probably would've fallen for you just by reading this post! πŸ˜‰ Not that I'd want to separate you from your bf, of course… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award and a massive thank you! | Every Word You Say

  4. Congrats for being so open-minded and willing to say what is on your mind. Your boyfriend is a lucky guy to have such as well-spoken intelligent girlfriend. As a teacher, I see a lot of discrimination and close-minded attitudes. It is refreshing to read and hear your’s.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I think I’m going to print out your comment and show it to him every time he moans at me for singing too loudly in the shower πŸ˜› But seriously, you’re right, we are such a close-minded population and that’s such a shame.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award (Take 2!) | Every Word You Say

  6. As a mom to two on the spectrum and wife to a man not officially diagnosed but told he exhibited every sign, thank you for this. I am so frustrated and angered there is yet such lack of understanding and cruelty. My kids and my hubby are beautiful, wonderful, and created by a creative God who gave us unique perspective. We have our hard days but I wouldn’t trade them. You obviously have an amazing heart. I hope my kiddos are just as blessed as your boyfriend one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It sounds like they’re already blessed to have such a kind and thoughtful mum and wife! Thank you so much for your comment, it makes me so angry too that people don’t understand autism and that there are people who believe those with autism are any lesser than those without. I hope that as your children grow up they’re surrounded by people who are educated and kind and understanding, because that’s what they deserve πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I have a cousin with Asperger’s and this piece perfectly describes what it’s like to have someone close to you who is on the spectrum, and your final line. Wow. It perfectly describes the anger I feel when parents link vaccine use to Autism. Not only is it factually incorrect but it dehumanizes those with autism, like they are somehow less then the rest of us. Thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh don’t get me started on that stupid vaccine myth. I researched it as part of my college work, and it came from one guy who was paid to say it and who was later disproved multiple times -_- I’m so glad you liked this post, and share my feelings! No one with autism/aspergers should have to feel ashamed and belittled.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re love for him seeps from each word, you are an amazing person.

    It’s terribly sad, and almost frightening, to think the amount of misunderstanding and false beliefs there are surrounding the topic of Autism and what it exactly means to have Autism. When its rates are constantly increasing in the population, the average person needs to be corrected/ accurately informed, and soon.. At least in my opinion ;]

    Besides that little note, again I just want to say how much a genuinely amazing woman you are, and that I also wish you and your boyfriend the absolute best in love and in life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

